Museum Excellence

The Oklahoma Museums Association encourages Oklahoma museums to take the Pledge of Excellence as provided by the American Alliance of Museums.  OMA further encourages all Oklahoma museums to adopt best practices and standards for their institution.  More information and a variety of resources to assist museums on the continuum of excellence can be found on the Alliance website including ethics, best practices and standards.  The American Association for State and Local History offers STEPS, Standards and Excellence Program in History Organizations.  The Oklahoma Center for Nonprofits offers the Standards for Excellence.  OMA offers a variety of training to assist Oklahoma museums with excellence.

Being accredited by the American Alliance of Museum is a widely recognized seal of approval that brings national recognition to a museum for its commitment to excellence, accountability, high professional standards, and continued institutional improvement. More information about AAM accreditation here.


As of 2023, Oklahoma has 14 accredited museums:


    1. Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art, University of Oklahoma, Norman
    2. Gilcrease Museum, Tulsa
    3. Museum of the Great Plains, Lawton
    4. National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum, Oklahoma City
    5. Oklahoma City Museum of Art, Oklahoma City
    6. Oklahoma City National Memorial & Museum, Oklahoma City
    7. Oklahoma City Zoological Park & Botanical Garden, Oklahoma City
    8. Oklahoma History Center – Oklahoma Historical Society, Oklahoma City
    9. Oklahoma State University Museum of Art, Stillwater
    10. Philbrook Museum of Art, Tulsa
    11. Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History, University of Oklahoma, Norman
    12. Science Museum Oklahoma, Oklahoma City
    13. Sherwin Miller Museum of Jewish Art, Tulsa
    14. Tulsa Children’s Museum, Tulsa