Enter the OMA Awards Program

Posted on 06/12/2019
Enter the OMA Awards Program, Deadline June 28

Entries for the 2019 OMA Awards Program are being accepted. The Oklahoma Museums Awards program is a great way to receive recognition for your museum’s superior accomplishment and overall excellence. 
The OMA Awards Program:
  • Honors the excellence of Oklahoma museum programs, publications and exhibits that engage the museum’s community and meets their mission, and
  • Recognizes individuals and groups whose contributions have impacted Oklahoma museums and the museum profession.
OMA takes great pride in honoring the outstanding projects and dedicated individuals that make Oklahoma museums—large or small, rural or urban—shine!
The Basics
  • Begin by reviewing the Awards Prep Info Sheet. This step is very important!
  • The deadline to submit an entry is Friday, June 28, 2019.
  • There are two award types; individual/group awards and project awards.
  • Any OMA member may submit. Museums are encouraged to self-nominate for project awards.
  • Entries must be submitted online. Mail, fax, e-mail and in-person entries are not accepted.
  • A $25 entry fee is required for each entry submitted. Unlimited entries accepted. Submit only one entry per online form.
  • Pay online with credit card once the online form is complete, or send payment by mail. Payments by mail must be postmarked the same day entry is submitted to be considered.
  • Once you begin the online entry process, you are unable to save the entry and return later. 
  • Online entries are accepted as submitted; no changes or additions are allowed.
  • OMA reserves the right to disqualify any entry that does not meet all submission rules.
  • Submitted materials become the property of the Oklahoma Museums Association and may be used at OMA’s discretion.
  • Judges’ decisions are final.
Individual/Group Awards
  • Service to the Profession
  • Certificate of Recognition
Project Awards
  • Projects nominated must have been completed or in use between January 1, 2018 - June 30, 2019. Project categories are grouped by project budget.
  • Conservation or Preservation Project
  • Exhibit
  • Outreach or Education Program
  • Promotional Piece (brochure, invitation, press kit, poster, website, Facebook, Twitter, etc.)
  • Publication (magazine, exhibition catalog, newsletter, etc.)
  • Technology Media (blog, interactive game, video, etc.
All award entrants will receive status of their entry by July 19, 2019. Awards will be presented at the Awards Celebration Dinner the evening of September 19 at Choctaw Casino Resort in Durant, as part of the OMA Conference.