OMA Award Nominations Open

Posted by OMA on 03/20/2013

The OMA Awards Program has undergone exciting new changes! One change is the fact that any OMA member can nominate an individual or a project for an award. There are two individual/group categories and six project categories.

Individual/Group Categories

• Laura McDonagh Streich Award for Service to the Profession

• Certificate of Recognition

Project Categories

• Conservation or Preservation • Exhibits

• Outreach or Education • Promotional Piece

• Publication • Technology Media

Project categories will be divided into three project budget groups for judging to create a more level playing field for all entrants. An entrant nominating a joint project or project work completed for a separate institution must notify the other entity before submitting an award. For example, a guest curator of the Super Snazzy exhibit that was on display at the ABC Museum of Art, must notify the museum about making the award entry. This ensures that OMA does not receive duplicate entries and that all recognition is correctly attributed. Museum projects must have been completed or in use between January 1, 2012 and June 30, 2013.

Also new this year is the ability to make award entries entirely online. A downloadable form is still available for those who prefer to mail or deliver entries. Find links for both options here. All entries must be postmarked by June 6.

Awards will be presented at the awards luncheon on Friday, September 27, 2013 in Enid as part of the OMA Annual Conference. The awards program is sponsored by Sam Noble Museum and the awards luncheon is sponsored by Arts & Humanities Council of Tulsa, Oklahoma City National Memorial & Museum and Jasmine Moran Children’s Museum.