OMA Award Winners Announced

Museums large and small strive to engage their communities and meet their missions through programs, publications and exhibits. The OMA Awards Program honors the excellence and quality of projects accomplished by institutional members. Also, the program recognizes individuals and groups whose contributions have impacted Oklahoma museums and the museum profession. OMA congratulates the following and takes great pride in honoring the quality projects and dedicated individuals that make Oklahoma museums shine.

2014 Oklahoma Museums Association Award Winners

Certificate of Recognition
Diana Collinsworth, Oklahoma History Center

Laura McDonagh Streich Award for Service to the Profession
Daniel Provo, Oklahoma History Center
Sherri Scarth Vance, Oklahoma City Zoo and Botanical Garden, ZooZeum

Conservation or Preservation
Budget $5,001 – $15,000
Martha Jane Starr Digital Preservation Project, Bartlesville Area History Museum

Budget $0 – $5,000
The Life & Death of an American Outlaw: The Story of Elmer McCurdy, Oklahoma Territorial Museum

Budget $5,001 – $15,000
Black Cowboys on the Chisholm Trail, Chisholm Trail Heritage Center

Budget $15,001 and over
Steamboat Heroine, Oklahoma History Center 

Outreach or Education Program
Budget $0 – $5,000
Pioneer Life: Homesteading the Cherokee Outlet, Cherokee Strip Regional Heritage Center

Budget $5,001 – $15,000
How Oklahoma Began, Sheerar Museum of Stillwater History and Oklahoma WONDERtorium

Promotional Piece
Budget $0 – $5,000
Medicine Park Aquarium website, Medicine Park Aquarium & Natural Sciences Center

Budget $15,001 and over
Comanche Code of Honor TV Special, Comanche National Museum and Cultural Center

Budget $0 – $5,000
Osage Hills Detective Stories, Oklahoma Territorial Museum

Budget $5,001 – $15,000
Writing in Response to Art, Chisholm Trail Heritage Center

Technology Media
Budget $0 – $5,000
Bacon Beans & Limousines: Will Rogers Memorial Museum Podcast, Will Rogers Memorial Museum

Budget $5,001 – $15,000
Nu Mihimia – “My War Journey”, Comanche National Museum and Cultural Center

Purchase OMA Award Luncheon Tickets Here

The OMA awards luncheon will be held Friday, September 26, 2014 at the Museum of the Red River in Idabel, Oklahoma. The luncheon will be held from noon-2:00pm.  The keynote speakers will be Taos artists, Jeralynn Lujan Lucero and Ray Wiger. Tickets are $35 each. Purchase Award Luncheon Tickets Here

View Press Releases:
OMA Conference Press Release
OMA Awards Press Release